3 Graphic Novels To Start Your Collection

12 May

Sandman

Preacher

30 Days of Night

 

8 Responses to “3 Graphic Novels To Start Your Collection”

  1. Robert Lee May 12, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    The Preacher was what I used to trick my wife into reading a comic. Now she goes to Comic Con with me.

  2. roisinaobrien May 12, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

    @Robert Preacher works a treat 🙂 The artwork alone is enought to coax any graphic novel non-believer!

  3. Olive May 13, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    As you know, am a bit ignorant when it comes to knowledge of graphic novels! Those images are stunning:)

  4. Apryl May 13, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    Ha! Yes. @Robert is right! He did trick me and I do go to Comic Con now!

  5. Aiden R May 13, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

    Started Sandman, couldn’t get into it for some reason, but will give it another shot.

    Never read 30 Days of Night, heard good things.

    LOVE Preacher. Tore through that series. Great recommendation.

    Ever read Y: The Last Man? That’s right up there with Watchmen IMHO.

  6. Marshall May 14, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

    The only one I ever bothered to read was “Watchmen.” I loved it! But the only reason I read it was because of the movie…

  7. Dreher Bear (...Where The Buffalo Roam) May 14, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

    I recently got into Preacher and I haven’t been able to turn away (it’s so good). I REALLY hope now that Bond 23 is put on hold that Sam Mendes jumps back on to the film adaptation. I personally think it would work better as a mini-series, but a film would still be pretty cool.

  8. roisinaobrien May 16, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    @Olive Preacher is due to be released as a film in the next few years – Sam Mendes was supposed to be directing it, but apparently dropped it in favour of Bond :O

    @Apryl If you now attend comic con, then the trickery had a happy ending 😉

    @Aiden I’d recommend 30 Days of Night purely for some of the brilliant illustrations it contains. I’ve yet to read Y:The Last Man – Thanks for the recommendation! Have you ever seen this – It’s a poster containing ever character from Sandman: http://images.nymag.com/daily/entertainment/22_sandmanposter.jpg

    @Marshall A good one to start with!

    @Dreher It’d definitely work as a series. There’s no word of Sam Mendes being involved again, but hopefully it’ll get a good quality director that the story deserves 🙂

Leave a comment