Guest Post – Ronan Recommends

22 Jun
 
Ronan Wright is a self-confessed celluloid junkie, aspiring critic and film graduate from Belfast, Northern Ireland. He runs the popular website www.filmplicity.com, where you will find reviews of both contemporary and classic films. Ronan’s reviews have also featured in The Belfast Telegraph.

 

Follow Filmplicity on Twitter at www.twitter.com/filmplicity

______________________________________________________________________________________________________
 
Ronan Recommends…3 Short Films
 
The Bloggerly versatile, highly recommended, Róisín, polished purveyor of all n’ sundry with sunny simplicity from the Irish side of the blogosphere, has kindly invited me to give my own recommendation of videos you might have missed, imaginatively labelled ‘Ronan Recommends’.
 
The Stork (Monster TV commercial)
 
The T-shirt 
 
Hey, what’s that? A Sparrow! 
 
Hope you enjoy these recent little discoveries of mine as much as I did.
 
14 Responses to “Guest Post – Ronan Recommends”

  1. Ronan June 22, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

    Thank you Roisin, for your kind introduction and for allowing me to appear on one of my favourite blogs.

  2. Novroz June 22, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    Ahh Ronan beats me. I want to be the 1st guest but been so busy lately. I’ll check on that video soon (I assume there are video…mobile is so limited.)

  3. Olive June 23, 2010 at 7:38 am #

    Great picks Ronan:)
    You had me tearing up there on the Sparrow one, all at 8.30 in the morning!
    Didn’t see the Monster ad before, I’d say it’s pretty effective…

  4. Robert Lee June 23, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

    Great films! I love to go to the short film showcases at festivals. I live just outside NYC and attended the Tribeca Film festival this past spring. One really good film out of Ireland in one of the shorts compilations was “The Crush” (http://www.indiegogo.com/The-Crush)

    Thanks for sharing!

  5. Ronan June 23, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    @Novia Looking forward to reading ‘Novia Recommends’, I’m sure you have some interesting L’arc en ciel related videos to intrigue us with.

    @Olive Thanks Olive, I especially like the stork one, though the t-shirt in the t-shirt is pretty cool. The sparrow had me tearing up a bit too (though inside, obviously, because I’m a man, and men don’t cry…sob)

    @Robert Lee Thanks for link Robert, I enjoyed the crush, pleasantly surprised to see that it is based in my native Ireland.

  6. Novroz June 24, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    @Ronan

    I love the 1st and the 2nd one.., great choice Ronan 🙂

    Hehe I’m planning to spread Indonesia around the blog…I have 3 post for guest post in 3 different blogs…so Roisin will also receive something Indonesia-ish…if she want to take it 🙂

  7. roisinaobrien June 24, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    @Ronan You are more than welcome! Thank you for agreeing to appear on “Róisín Recommends”. Three great choices.

    @Novroz I’d love to have learn more about Indonesia (especially Laruku!), so I will definitely take it!

    @Olive That Monster ad is lovely, isn’t it? Tears at 8.30am – That’d be a great name for a band! 😀

    @Robert Thanks for that link 🙂 It’s my dream to attend a film festival in New York!

    • Novroz June 24, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

      Unfortunately Laruku isn’t from Indonesia 😦 they are Japanese. I will share my fav Indonesian Band…I have searched the link for their video yesterday. I will write the introduction today. And maybe I can send it to you today or tomorrow 🙂

  8. roisinaobrien June 25, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    @Novroz Oh yeah ;D I forgot! How could I forget after our discussion of Malice Mizer :O

    Can’t wait to see your video of the Indonesian band – I love learning about new music, and new films of course!

  9. Darren June 28, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    Nice choice Ronan. When it comes to short films, I’m disappointingly conventional. You can’t beat Vincent.

  10. Heather June 28, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    Short films is certainly something i’m trying to understand more and have a desire to become more familiar with. I’ve found an appreciation for some anime shorts and some comedy shorts as well.

  11. Ronan June 29, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    @Darren Cheers Darren, These ones in particular made me want to share them. I can’t give higher praise than that.

  12. Ronan June 29, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    @Heather I made a short film a Uni, it was umm… how do I say this… one of kind.

  13. Dan July 1, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    The sparrow one What Is That? is very moving, I liked it. I don’t think the director needed to spend 2 minutes of the 5 minute run time with credits but I have to say the opening credit sequence is very well done.

Leave a Reply

