Guest Post: Novia Recommends

1 Jul

Novia Rozet is a polyglot blogger from Indonesia. As well as working as a teacher, Novia writes articles on films, music and books for her blog “Novroz’ Favorite Things”. Novia’s blog incorporates subjects on cultures from around the globe and is favoured as a resource for those who wish to expand their knowledge of the arts in a global forum.

 Follow Novia on Twitter at http://twitter.com/novroz 

 ______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
 

The S.I.G.I.T

 The S.I.G.I.T is one of Indonesian FEW great bands. There are a lot of bands in Indonesia but only a small amount can be considered and labeled as GREAT BAND, one of them is The S.I.G.I.T

 You can pronounce it The S.I.G.I.T as the sigit (without the dots), it pronounces see-git (similar with bit but change ‘b’ into ‘g’)

They were formed in 1994

They put their name in NME’s Stereo in 2005 “The S.I.G.I.T. – Black Amplifier.
Scorching, gonzo Zep Rock from our hot new Indonesian Friend”

Although they are still an Indie Band, they toured around Australia in 2007 and appeared at SXSW 2009 in Austin Texas and toured California and Hongkong.

I picked these 2 videos.

Money Making’ is one of my favorite songs

This one is also my favorite, it’s called Provocateur, both as a song and as a video. It’s simple but captivating.

Hope you’ll enjoy this rare talent from my country 🙂 

 

9 Responses to “Guest Post: Novia Recommends”

  1. Olive July 1, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    Enjoyed these videos, as to be honest didn’t hear of the band until now. I prefer Provocateur to the other, as you say the simplicity is the best part of it; although it’s a little early in the morning for me, for that amount of blood. Do they always sing in English?

    • Novroz July 1, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

      @Olive I’m glad you enjoy it 🙂

      To be honest, not many Indonesian people know about them…they are afterall Indie band. That’s why I want more people to know about them.

      Yes, they always use English…I think they are trying to be known in other countries rather than in Indonesia…the reason is very simple, most Indonesian people like different kind of music (the kind of music that I don’t like, that’s why I like The Sigit)

  2. Novroz July 1, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

    @Roisin Thank you for allowing me to become your guest writer 🙂 And I hope you like those videos too

  3. Ronan July 1, 2010 at 6:48 pm #

    Interesting selection of videos Novia. I like the second song, less noise and more melody.
    I was half expecting butterflies and dafodils but having said that, after seeing your [turd]tle http://bokunosekai.wordpress.com/2010/06/11/kroten-si-tukang-boker/ ,I shouldn’t really be that surprised 😉

    • Novroz July 1, 2010 at 11:23 pm #

      What?? Ronan, why did you bring my baby’s poop in here! lol lucky I didn’t write that in Englsh.

      For music, I like them both (because just like Roisin..I like loud music) but for video, the second one is my favorite.

  4. roisinaobrien July 1, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    @Novroz Delighted to have you here! I genuinely loved those videos – There first video made me remember this song for some reason:

    Pop Levi reminds me of Robert Plant…so I guess that means Sigit remind me of Plant and therefore..Led Zeppelin!

    I like the first video because…well…to put it simply, I love loud music 🙂 And I like the second video, because I love dark melodic music too!

    Thanks for sharing Indonesian music with us, Novia!

    • Novroz July 1, 2010 at 11:29 pm #

      I’ll check that Pop Levi soon. Yes The Sigit has old rock sounds…that’s why I fell in love with their music. The 1st time I heard them I literally said ‘wow we have this kinda band here?’

      love zeppelin too…to put it simple, I love old rock music. I only like few of nowadays rock band.

      You are more than welcome Roisin 🙂

  5. therubycanary July 3, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    This was interesting. I’ve been in a musical rut, so I enjoyed hearing something new from a country that I’m not familiar with the music. Nice post!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Posts in These Awesome Blogs « Novroz' Favorite Things - October 22, 2010

    […] post on her blog is about my favorite Indonesian Band, The S.I.G.I.T. Thank you for accepting my simple post […]

Leave a Reply

