Guest Post – Olive Recommends

11 Jul

Olive O’Brien is a writer, book publisher, journalist and complete movie addict, among other things.  Olive also runs two blogs.  Movie News First, a look at the latest film releases, trailers and entertainment gossip. While Write Olive focuses on her writing endeavors.

Follow Olive on Twitter at http://twitter.com/oliveobrien

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Olive Recommends…A Taste of Ireland

For our friends outside of Ireland, I thought I would include a small taste of Irish life:) Enjoy!

The first is a clip from “Intermission”; an Irish film starring Colin Meaney and Colin Farrell. Deirdre O’Kane, a well-known Irish comedian features in it and it’s but a tiny sample of our infamous “customer service.”

This one made me laugh. The Gardaí are the police and these two unfortunates were the subject of a prank carried out by a member of the public. So you have two mobile ones; you use one to ring one garda station & the second to ring another station and you hold the two phones together to talk to each other. What will be the result? The following…

One of my favourite Irish comedians, Dylan Moran talks about what others think of the Irish..,tis true begorrah!

24 Responses to “Guest Post – Olive Recommends”

  1. CMrok93 July 12, 2010 at 3:59 am #

    Intermission is one of the best comedies that nobody knows about at all. That’s what makes it even better.

  2. Darren July 12, 2010 at 7:35 am #

    Yep, for my money, the best Irish film ever. Which is probably not the “correct” answer (which is something like The Quiet Man or Once or something), but I don’t care. It’s awesome. And brown sauce in tea? Not as great as the film makes out.

  3. Olive July 12, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    @Darren; Am impressed that you tried out the brown sauce in tea. I just couldn’t bring myself to taste it.

  4. Olive July 12, 2010 at 10:15 am #

    @CMrok93; It was very successful in Ireland, but as you say apart from that, it’s very much underrated. Glad you liked it:)

  5. Olive July 12, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    @Róisín; thanks again for the invite to post some videos from Ireland on your blog, it was good fun!

  6. roisinaobrien July 12, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    @Olive Thanks for being a guest on my blog 🙂 I love your choices. They’re hilarious and capture perfectly the essence of Irish insanity!

  7. roisinaobrien July 12, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    @CMrok93 As Olive mentioned, Intermission is well known in Ireland, but it’s definitely under-acknowledged in the global sense. It’s a pity Farrell has gone downhill with a series of bad roles since then.

    @Darren I’d definitely rate Intermission above Once! Trying brown sauce in tea – Now that’s what I call dedication to film. Although, after I watched Waiting for Guffmann, I did vow to myself that I’d try working in Dairy Queen 😀 I suspect that would still be easier than brown sauce in tea!

  8. Novroz July 12, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    I like Intermission. It’s funny and entertaining. But I have to admit that CMrok93 is right, not many people know about it…honestly I didn’t know it either till I fell in love with Cillian Murphy and started looking for all his movies

  9. niamh July 12, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    Great choices, loved the Dylan Moran clip, really must get around to seeing him in action. And unfortunately the accent-copying is so true!

  10. Olive July 12, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    @Novroz; I bet you’re looking forward to Inception with Cillian:)

    • Novroz July 12, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

      well Olive, I think you know the answer to that 😉

      There are 3 reasons for my eagerness toward Inception, 1. it looks like the next Matrix, 2. CILLIAN and 3. Ken Watanabe

  11. Olive July 12, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    @Niamh; Haven’t seen Dylan Moran either, it’s pity he doesn’t do more gigs in Cork. He has such a unique brand of humour:)

  12. Robert Lee July 12, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    I love Intermission. I’m going to need to go home and watch it right now. The Garda clip is hysterical! I used to live in Belfast, and miss Ireland so much. I was the brunt of many jokes with my friends there, as I made a massive fool of myself not understanding what the Craic was when I first arrived. They said they were looking for the Craic and I thought they meant crack. I’m from New York and crack gets you 20 years in prison, so I was ready to get out of that pub. They explained and began calling me New York Craic. I’ll never live it down.

    Thanks for sharing the clips.

    Robert Lee

  13. Olive July 12, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    @Robert Lee; I can understand how the mix-up could occur alright! I was watching an interview with the cast of Star Trek recently. Zachary Quinto (Spock) lived in Galway for a while and mentioned “craic” much to the shock of Chris Pine.

    • Robert Lee July 13, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

      I was in Galway for two days once. Good craic.

  14. roisinaobrien July 12, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    @Novroz What do you think of our Jonathan Rhys Meyers? 😀

    @Niamh That accent-copying thing has happened to me too! I’m guilty of inheriting and using particularly Irish phrases such as “ahhhh yerra” and “grand”, which provides plenty material for imitators. Curse my dialect! I’d love to see Dylan Moran too – He was great in the film “A Film With Me In It”.

    @Robert I’d love to visit New York some day, however I think my dialect could pose a few problems 🙂 When I visit Cheshire in England, people find it hard to decode some of my speech, so I can only imagine the language situations I’d encounter in the U.S.! A shop assistant laughed at me in Manchester recently, because of the way I pronounced “Salvador Dali”.

    • Novroz July 12, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

      JRM is cute!!! I didn’t know he is Irish till I read Ruth’s post. I notice him when I watched August Rush.

      I have a picture of him and Cillian…2 cute Irish! Are Irishmen always that goodlooking, or just the movie star?

      • roisinaobrien July 13, 2010 at 10:06 am #

        @Novroz Haha. We’ll let you decide!

      • Novroz July 16, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

        @Roisin can you send me one that looks exactly like Cillian please … I will take good care of him hehe.

        Inception makes me wish I can get inside Cillian’s dream

    • Robert Lee July 13, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

      “Salvador Dali” Ha! He’s confusing in any dialect or language! You would fit in NYC just fine. The number of accents you can hear on one city block is staggering. It did take me a while to get the Belfast accent, but once I did that I was good to go throughout the North and South. I was in Belfast working on a Documentary for a year and I tried to blend in as much as possible, which meant attempting to adopt the accent. It was a fun time. When I returned to NYC I was mistaken for Irish a few times.

  15. Ronan July 12, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

    Intermission is a refreshing little Irish film, that inverts the ‘Hollywood’ in a Hollywood film. That Gardai clip is funny, I love that little UFO in the background 🙂

    • roisinaobrien July 13, 2010 at 10:07 am #

      @Ronan I think Olive’s three choices define perfectly 21st century Ireland!
      I love how the Garda reasoned that it must have been a meteorite that hit the line..

  16. Dan July 15, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    I live so close and have never visited Ireland. It’s on my list of things to do. A friend of mine moved from England to Dublin temporarily – it was only supposed to be for abouth six months – she now lives there permanently.

    I am going to have to see Intermission.

  17. brigid July 16, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

    Roisin and Olive, funny and really well-chosen, thanks.

Leave a Reply

