9 More Youtube Videos

24 Aug

Robert De Niro

Dustin Hoffman

Sir Ian McKellen – Extras

James Spader and Andrew McCarthy interview – Pretty in Pink premiere

Corey Feldman “dancing” in Dream a Little Dream

The Beatles perform Shakespeare in colour

George Harrison at John Lennon’s home

John Lennon and Bob Dylan in a taxi

Jack Wild (AKA The Artful Dodger) Interview

14 Responses to “9 More Youtube Videos”

  1. Olive August 25, 2010 at 8:07 am #

    That’s some pretty dodgy dancing by Mr. Feldman right there. And the Sir Ian clip gets me everytime. It’s definitely my favourite moment from “Extras”. The second fave would have to be the Patrick Stewart clip, brilliant!

    • roisinaobrien September 1, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

      The Sir Ian scene is definitely my favourite too! Although, Patrick Stewart is an absolute classic too – It was so odd to see him portray a character of that kind!

  2. Darren August 27, 2010 at 7:46 am #

    Nah, my favourite Extras moment is “Little Fat Man With the Pug-Nosed Face” from David Bowie.

    And, wow, some of these are vintage. Niiice.

    • roisinaobrien September 1, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

      I’d have to put the David Bowie scene in fourth place after Ian, Patrick and Winslet.

      A South Park reference. Niiice.

  3. badkidsgoodgrammar August 28, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    Dustin Hoffman gets me every single time. I love that man/woman.

    • roisinaobrien September 1, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

      I’m quite fond of the old Hoffmann too. And with Bill Murray? It’s a genius combination.

  4. Ronan August 30, 2010 at 6:42 pm #

    I love that Sir Ian McKellen clip. Priceless. 🙂

    • roisinaobrien September 1, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

      How did I know what to say? They had my lines written down on a script. How did I know where to stand? People showed me.

      🙂

  5. FRC Ruben August 30, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    I love the Bobby D audition for Sonny. So fun and really an interesting glimpse on what another genius interpreting something on his own looks like.

    • roisinaobrien September 1, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

      And he looks so young in that footage! It’s amazing to see, in that short clip, the natural talent he had from the beginning.

  6. Danya August 31, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    Thanks for dropping by my blog! As for Little Dorrit – well, it’s dense of course, but then it’s Dickens. I am quite liking the characters, and I’m not that far into it yet so I’m hoping the plot will pick up as I read some more. I’ve seen the BBC adaptation already and I liked it (that’s why I decided to try the book), but I’m not sure yet how closely it actually sticks to the original storyline.

    • roisinaobrien September 1, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

      Another notoriously wandering adaptation!

      An adaptation I thought worked quite well was the version of Jane Eyre with Toby Stephens – If you haven’t seen it already, it’s definitely worth a look. It managed to capture the darkness of the story and Stephens did a great job as Rochester. Ruth Wilson was probably the most likeable and accurate TV Jane Eyre so far – Independent, but not completely hardened. It’ll be interesting to see if Fassbender and co do the book justice in the upcoming film.

      • Danya September 7, 2010 at 4:33 am #

        I have seen the version of Jane Eyre with Toby Stephens, and thought it was quite a fresh interpretation of the role (although I think my favorite Rochester at this point remains Timothy Dalton). Also it was interesting the way they showed some of the scenes from Rochester’s memories of the West Indies – a bit of poetic license to make it come alive, but not so much that it started straying significantly from the book! I wasn’t aware that another version of Jane Eyre was in production – thanks for the head’s-up!

      • roisinaobrien September 8, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

        I agree – Dalton and the likes are on a whole different level. Although, Stephens’ is slowly but surely nearing that level. I loved those West Indies scenes too! It contrasted so well with the greyness of England in that particular production. This is a still from Mia Wasikowska’s Jane Eyre: http://www.aceshowbiz.com/images/still/jane_eyre01.jpg

        The full cast is available on IMDb – I love their choice of Judi Dench as Mrs Fairfax! There are a few Irish actors sprinkled through the cast, which is great 🙂

Leave a Reply

